Sunday School

Sunday School was established in 1990.

Sunday schools in Sri Lanka was initiated by the Catholic mission soon after receiving independence due to the reason of all the catholic schools were taken under the government and in order to give more emphasys to the religion, the catholic mission initiated Sunday schools at the time of Cardinal Cooray and with the inputs of Rev Fr. D.J. Anthoney. Then this system was networked through the island via a center of catechism. Sooner the Buddhists too followed this system as per the history.

Sunday School in Bambalapitiya parish was in active for a quite a long time. However it was revamped in the year 2008 at the time of centenary year of the parish. This includes; Installing 11 teachers; identifying all 3 mediums (Sinhala/English & Tamil) to be facilitated, initiating a the 10.30 mass as the childrens mass are 3 mile stones taken place at this stage. Today our Sunday school has approximately 270 children and 33 teachers from KG to year 11 in 3 mediums.

Despite investing many hours in hard work in preparing and acquiring knowledge each week the following activities are being conducted by the Sunday School teams.

The Lenten Pilgrimage, Christmas party, Celebrating Children’s day in Tewatte, Nativity play, Bible quiz programs etc….

Following is the volunteer teachers past and present who have contributed to the Sunday school in different ways.

Senior teachers and other supporters–past and present Young teachers – past and present
Ajantha Manthri
Amali de Silva
Anne Seneviratne
Ashanti Fernando
Chrishanthi Chelliah
Dinali De Silva
Ganga Jasenthuliyana
Geethika Amaratunga
Goretti Paiva
Imalka Bosco
Jacinta Jayasekera
Karan Bird
Melanie Nanayakkara
Manel De Alwis
Michelle Fonseka
Monisha Cruez
Nadishani Makalanda
Nilukshi Fonseka
Nirasha Gomez
Nirmala Joseph
Niroshani Wanniarachchi
Pravinda David
Rukshini Micheal
Shahan Micheal
Shalini Perera
Sharron De Alwis
Sharron Steinwall
Sr Himali
Sr Sujeewa
Nadeeshani Makalanda
Virginia Daniel
Susal Dabera
Senuri Dabera
Anithra Lihinikaduwa
Anik De Mel
Levin Dharmawardana
Chathura De Silva
Nayomi Makalanda
Priyandan Francis
Sanchia Steinwall
Amandi Kotelawala
Sanoli Krishnan
Aneesha Henry
Shammara Fonseka
Shauntel Soris
Shuntel Fonseca

The principal of the sunday school is the parish priest assisted with 3 coordinators for each medium.

Contact Information –

English Medium head teacher – Nilukshi Fonseka 077-770-5500

Tamil Medium head teacher – Ms. Rukshini - 077-248-8676

Sinhala Medium head teacher – Ganga Jasenthuliyana – 077-311-8101